Understanding it all

May 11, 2011 at 3:00 AM

First i would like to say thank you for the awesome work put into this project.

I'm currently a game development student and was looking to do something quite close to this.  Most of the ground work is already laid out for me, so thanks for that.

I tried to see if anyone was in the IRC chat room hanging out alas no avail there.  However onto my question now, which is a simple yet possibly difficult one at the same time.

I've taken physics and 3d math so i understand most of the mathematics behind this.  I would like to understand what exactly we are doing with the code before i jump in and try to modify anything or break down into what i need.  I guess my newbie programming side is coming out because i can't seem to find where to start and what to move onto when looking at this code, what was built first and following it through.. I guess i could just randomly start somewhere and look through it and have that ah-ha moment where everything comes together but i have not one clue at this moment.

i'm not asking for what each line does, but just a quick point in the right direction would be grateful.

Coordinator
May 11, 2011 at 5:17 AM

Hello and welcome .  a quick answer,  as its quite late for me :  be sure to look at the NewTake project,  download the latest entry in the source code tab .  start from the Model/* classes and  SimpleRenderer.cs .

I think the best way to learn and to appreciate our code is to try to write your own block world from scratch, starting with a very naive implementation drawing all faces of all cubes.  

Good luck !

May 11, 2011 at 6:09 PM
enomi wrote:

Hello and welcome .  a quick answer,  as its quite late for me :  be sure to look at the NewTake project,  download the latest entry in the source code tab .  start from the Model/* classes and  SimpleRenderer.cs .